loading

0034 643 388 404

Cierzos y Cabreras 12
Iznájar, Andalucia, Spain

    

Copyright © 2016, All Rights Reserved
Tourism license number VTAR/CO/101
Disclaimer

Testimonials

Reviews from our guests
Joe 2019-08-16  

Jim's place is superb, both in terms of the character and amenity of the house and the surrounding location. Whilst we had a little difficulty in finding it, Jim was on-hand to rescue us and his hospitality was excellent. The local town itself is beautiful and quaint and the couple of occasions we chose to eat out we thoroughly enjoyed the traditional Spanish food and Jim was happy to recommend some restaurants. The house has everything you need and is very well-equipped, with some minor additions we were impressed by. The hot tub and fully-stocked pool bar are excellent features as well, and Jim provides an honesty-service with the bar that we thought was a nice touch. Don't even get me started on the other four-legged residents, we all wanted to take them home with us! Overall it is an excellent family house and offers an alternative, quieter location to the typical holiday destinations on the coast with much more magnificent views. Do not expect anything too lively, this is a place for relaxing and enjoying the scenery. A car is a must!

Joe 2019-08-11  

Jim's place is superb, both in terms of the character and amenity of the house and the surrounding location. Whilst we had a little difficulty in finding it, Jim was on-hand to rescue us and his hospitality was excellent. The local town itself is beautiful and quaint and the couple of occasions we chose to eat out we thoroughly enjoyed the traditional Spanish food and Jim was happy to recommend some restaurants. The house has everything you need and is very well-equipped, with some minor additions we were impressed by. The hot tub and fully-stocked pool bar are excellent features as well, and Jim provides an honesty-service with the bar that we thought was a nice touch. Don't even get me started on the other four-legged residents, we all wanted to take them home with us! Overall it is an excellent family house and offers an alternative, quieter location to the typical holiday destinations on the coast with much more magnificent views. Do not expect anything too lively, this is a place for relaxing and enjoying the scenery. A car is a must!

Charlotte 2019-07-28  

Je recommande cette maison magnifique avec vue sur le lac piscine super autant pour les adultes que les enfants nous (Website hidden by Airbnb) conseille fortement.l hôte Est super.

Vincent 2019-06-27  

Jim has been an amazing host. He’s been helpful and caring during the whole week. We’ve been amazed and touched by the house, the landscapes and the serenity of the place. Just perfect!

Liz 2019-06-22  

Fantastic and very helpful host. A wonderful place to stay with magnificent views. Highly recommend!

Wander 2019-05-26  

We had such a lovely stay at Casa de Ladera earlier this month. The attention to detail and hospitality by Jim is outstanding. Very helpful with any questions you may have and the welcome pack with essentials was great. The amenities are fantastic; the pool, jacuzzi and bbq especially, not to mention the views which really makes this place special. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back soon!

Alexander 2018-10-30  

Jim is a really hospital and warm person. We really enjoyed our stay in the casa Ladera. With the great olive grove surrounding and the stunning view to the village iznajar. Jim even provided us with an olive oil tasting of the local amazing oils. Really kind is the fridge with food for the first days. Jim kindly gave us an additional bedroom with amazing view over the valley and another balcony. On two days the dogs were a little nervous probably because of full moon and the autumn coming. All in all it was an amazing vacation in andalusia and we would like to come back.

Carolyne A 2018-10-30  

This was everything we were seeking for our week in the area. It's very nicely decorated and there's everything you need in the property. With bedrooms on both sides of the house it would be good for families or 2 couples. Great views of the lake; unfortunately the weather wasn't great so we couldn't use the outside terraces as much as we would have liked but it's nice there are different levels to use. It's a good central location to visit various sights of Andalucia but also a great place just to lie back and read a book or use the DVD player / internet TV. Jim was attentive and responsive but left us to ourselves also which was nice and we loved the 3 dogs. Very recommended property and the local village is interesting also with various amenities.

Daydream 2018-10-15  

Lovely restful place. This was everything we were seeking for our week in the area. It's very nicely decorated and there's everything you need in the property. With bedrooms on both sides of the house it would be good for families or 2 couples. Great views of the lake; unfortunately the weather wasn't great so we couldn't use the outside terraces as much as we would have liked but it's nice there are different levels to use. It's a good central location to visit various sights of Andalucia but also a great place just to lie back and read a book or use the DVD player / internet TV. Jim was attentive and responsive but left us to ourselves also which was nice and we loved the 3 dogs. Very recommended property and the local village is interesting also with various amenities.

Alan & Jac. 2018-10-08  

An other fantastic holiday @ Casa De Ladera superb accommodation facilities and host.

Bill and Phil 2018-09-15  

After researching for months prior to booking, we decided on this charming villa just minutes outside of the village of Iznájar. Our prerequisites were a good central location to explore Andalucia and a good place to just relax when not exploring. Also to enjoy a genuine Spanish experience, not in the middle of tourists, but more around Spaniards and travelers. We could not have picked a better place. There was great communication before our arrival from Jim and we were welcomed with a perfect selection of things you might need to let you settle in a few days if needed. All of the places that you would want to see were within an hour or so drive. Sevilla, Malaga, Córdoba and Granada , not to mention a few treasures in between were easily reached. Honestly, our best days were spent just lounging around the pool and taking in the spectacular views (and shooting hoops in the pool)((you’ll figure that out if you go)). Very much enjoyed the town and were fortunate enough to spend an evening with Jim and his lovely and charming wife Carol chatting about life in the area (and everything else). Don’t miss Bar Verde and the owners Scott and Naomi. Hospitable, charming , great chefs and they directed us to the house when we arrived in town. Don’t worry , it’s easy to get around. Jim’s directories , after booking , are on spot. I could not recommend a better place and look forward to going back.

A & O 2018-09-01  

Hi Jim and Carol, we really enjoyed staying with you. You made us feel at home and did everything to make our stay pleasant. The house is one of the completest we have ever seen, everything is there! Your help with the package, the laundry, the ironing; you’re so service minded. We expect your restructuring will be great (especially open frontal view from the terrace on the lake would be super!) Good luck with that and maybe till next time! Best regards A & O

Lorraine 2018-08-08  

Peaceful, fabulous, away from it all, perfect! Just returned from a wonderful 10 night break at Casa De Ladera. The villa is gorgeous, comfortable, immaculately clean, and has all the things that make it a home from home. The pool was welcome in the record temperatures and the various terraces and seating areas give sun or shade dependant on the time of day. The views from the villa and terraces are spectacular, photos just don't do justice. Jim, our host was lovely (especially liked his cheeky sense of humour). He was there if we needed him and gave us the space to make the holiday feel private. His dogs are a joy and we especially enjoyed the guided walk he did around the lake. We gained much more information on the local area from Jim than what we got from our guide book. Don't hesitate to book this villa is exceptional!

Olivier 2018-07-16  

Trust this unique address with all the equipments. In this house you'll be like "in French Provence" . Car is absolument necessary because you are in the country ! but you are near all the sites to visit (Sevilla, Granada, Cordoba, Malaga, Ronda...). Note that Jim is really reactive : toaster was out of order.... 30 minutes later, it was replaced !!! great. Really Good service. One last word about the welcome pack : so appropriate. we ll back !

Darran 2018-07-07  

Lovely relaxing week, great lake views and everything catered for! Just back from a lovely week at Casa de Ladera. Jim and Carol welcomed us on the Saturday evening much later than we had planned (flight delays and lengthy hire car queue at Malaga airport) and were available (but discrete) in the event we needed anything. We were invited by them to join the small but lively ex-pat community in the village to watch England v Croatia in the WC SF and enjoyed a few drinks with Jim and Carol. The villa had everything we needed for maximum chill out. Had some lovely meals out both in the village and at the grill house a couple of KMs up the road. There's also easy shopping in the large supermarket at Rune. Would definitely recommend if you're after a total break from it all.

Jagman41 2018-06-25  

We normally tour around and stay at different Hotels in Spain, this year however we decided to book a house as a base for our party of 3: my wife and I and our Spanish speaking friend and the Casa was just right for us. It is always difficult when you rely on photos and write ups to be sure that you will be getting somewhere that you will enjoy and can relax in. I can assure you that Casa Ladera and Jim and Carol exceeded our expectations. Nothing was too much trouble and the welcome food pack (basically everything you need for the first 2 days at least) and the attention to detail was amazing. Every little thing is catered for and nothing was too much trouble for Jim (the owner). We were lucky with the weather and sitting on the terrace by the pool overlooking the lake in the evening with a glass (or 2) was a lasting memory. Highly recommended by all 3 of us. And George the dog is a vital part of the set-up! Very well behaved and most amusing!

Martinez Garcia R 2018-06-20  

We hebben een uitstekende vakantie gehad. En dat begon direct met de aankomst al. De eigenaars Jim en Carol zijn heel lieve en aangename mensen die direct bij aankomst ons een hartelijk welkom gaven. Ze hebben in de villa tijdens de rondleiding alles goed uitgelegd elke kamer werd getoond. Ze maken tijd voor de mensen. Wat ook heel goed was dat we geen enkel dingetje konden vinden of het was aanwezig. Zelfs nieuwe zonnebrillen, toiletgerief, kruiden, speelgoed voor de kindjes. En alles was er kraaknet. Bij aankomst stond zelfs de ijskast gevuld met eten en drinken voor de eerste dagen. Wat ook heel leuk was,dat het hondje George van de eigenaars elke dag bij ons eens een bezoekje kwam brengen. We kennen Iznajar al een tijdje maar het blijft een aangenaam dorp met vriendelijke mensen. Deze vakantiewoning was de beste dat we al gehuurd hebben.
Google Translated
We had an excellent holiday. And that started immediately with the arrival. The owners Jim and Carol are very sweet and pleasant people who gave us a warm welcome immediately upon arrival. They explained everything in the villa during the tour, each room was shown. They make time for the people. What was also very good was that we could not find anything wrong, it was very present. Even new sunglasses, toilet supplies, herbs, toys for the children. And everything was immaculate. On arrival even the refrigerator was filled with food and drinks for the first days. What was also very nice, that the dog George from the owners came to visit us every day. We have known Iznajar for a while but it remains a pleasant village with friendly people. This holiday was the best that we have ever had.

Brhermann 2018-05-20  

The Casa is close to the very nice town of Iznajar in the calm of the olive tree covered hills around it. Perfectly oriented to enjoy the full day of sun with a great pool and lots of space to relax. The rooms are very nice and everything is decorated with great attention to detail, we immediately fell in love with the place. Carol and Jim are always ready to help and had good advice for our trips to Granada and Cordoba.

Peter 2018-05-10  

The house is very good with nice decks and swimming pool and a beatiful view on the city and more. The hospitality of Carol and Jim is very fine.

Gillybutton 2018-04-16  

What a joy to be in such a beautiful home. Jim and Carol were the most perfect hosts and their attention to detail was so touching. The welcome pack was a lovely surprise . Such a cosy home and so comfortable. The Mountain View’s were amazing and the village was easy to drive too. George the dog was so welcoming too. He was a cherry on the cake of a perfect stay. We hope to visit again in the future . To explore more of the mountains , to Kayak and swim.

Sucharitha 2018-04-13  

Lovely villa, great location, great view We stayed for a week in early April and had a lovely time. Carol and Jim were very helpful (even lending us their kayak so we could explore the lake) and the welcome pack was great (even including a present for each of our kids). We would definitely visit again.

Chris F 2017-10-17  

I Have just returned from a long weekend staying at Casa de Ladera, I hours drive from Malaga. The villa alone has everything if you are looking for a quiet relaxing time. The hospitality was second to none thanks to the owners Carol & Jim. The cottages were clean and tidy, very well stocked with a welcome pack on arrival. The facilities were excellant, sun deck, swimming pool and bbq. The views overlooking the lake and olive groves are amazing. If your the outdoor type this is the place to be.

Jessica 2017-09-20  

We had a great time at casa de ladera! The house is very well equipped, quiet and perfectly located if you want to discover Andalusia (about 1h drive from Granada, Córdoba and Malaga and 2h form Sevilla). The view from the terrasse is wonderful: Olive trees and lake! Jim and Carol are very welcoming and provide you with all the information useful to discover the surroundings! Nous avons passé un super séjour dans la maison de Jim et Carol qui sont des hôtes très sympathiques et fournissent des informations très utiles pour découvrir les environs! Casa de ladera est idéalement située au milieu des champs d'oliviers. La vue sur le lac depuis la terrasse est magnifique. La maison est très bien équipée, propre et située à environ 2km du centre ville du village d'Iznajar. C'est un endroit parfait si vous souhaitez découvrir l'Andalousie!

Kerry 2017-08-28  

The photos of Iznajar and the villa looked extraordinary when we came across them while planning a holiday in southern Spain with our friends. We spent a week at Casa Ladera in late August 2017 and we were not disappointed. The house was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The pool was a delight overlooking olive trees as far as the lake. We enjoyed the terrace with the BBQ and the courtyard for relaxed meals. The area was 11/2 to 2hours from Granada, Córdoba and Seville and we enjoyed exploring the local village too. The thing that set this villa apart was the wonderful hospitable hosts, Jim and Carol. Their help and advice made our stay special and their generous 'welcome package' set us up for a fantastic stay. Thanks Jim and Carol and we would highly recommend yor villa for a relaxing holiday in Andulucia. Kerry,Dave, Des and Steve

ilg12017 2017-08-16  

The casa had everything we needed and wanted. The temperature hit 52 degrees plus, so the air conditioning was great. The pool was lovely and refreshing (and bigger than it appears in the photos). Carol and Jim were around if needed, but were not intrusive, and the dogs were really friendly. The directions Carol sends a couple of weeks beforehand are great, and if you follow them to the letter then there is no problem finding the Casa. They provided a comprehensive welcome pack with everything you may possibly need for the first few days. The town is a five minute drive away, and there is plenty of lovely walks, bike routes, drives around the around.

Danny J 2017-07-09  

Breathtaking views set in the middle of the Spanish countryside. We were originally booked to stay at a different villa for our holiday. But due to circumstances out of the owners control they had to re-arrange for us to stay at another villa at the last minute. Where as at first this made us all a bit nervous as we suddenly had no idea where we were staying, these worries were all put to rest when we arrived at Case de Ladera. On arrival we were met by the owners Jim & Carol who were lovely and they showed us round the villa making sure we knew how everything worked. The villa was stunning, very traditional but had all of the modern comforts that we were used too. It was immaculately clean too. There wasn't a spec of dust to be seen, and that is a massive compliment when you are set in the middle of the gorgeous but very dusty Olive grove. The outside is amazing. A good sized pool, 2 separate outdoor seating areas (One under cover) and then steps down to a round "snuggle bed" which was rather romantic and lit with lanterns. All of the outside area overlooks lake Iznajar and trust me, the view is amazing. I think the unexpected star of the show was probably the master bedroom. Seperate from the rest of the house (only by a corridor) and up some steps. It had a window specially installed the full length of the room so you could enjoy the view. At night you could open the shutters and lie watching the stars (sounds cheesy i know) All in all, this was a once in a lifetime experience. We feel extremely lucky to have ended up staying here, and we hope that we will see Jim and Carol again in the future, maybe for some tips, when we move out to Spain ourselves next month.

Jackie H 2017-07-01  

Carol and Jim have made us extremely welcome and also supplied a generous welcome pack. The property was well equipped, very clean, well decorated and comfortable. The outside area is spacious with a private pool, plenty of garden furniture to cater for all guests and stunning views over the lake. Definitely returning next year.

Carstenpetersendk 2017-06-27  

Relaxation in perfect surroundings! Casa de Ladera is located in a quiet area with a beautiful view over the lake and the village, in a convenient distance to some very interesting attractions, ie. Cordoba, Sevilla, Alhambra and the sea. The house is perfect, clean and well-equipped, and the owners, Carol and Jim are very friendly and helpful people, very willing to share their local knowledge. My best recommendations, I'm sure we will come back to this beautiful place.

Jacqueline S 2017-06-18  

Amazing amazing amazing My husband and stayed here for the 2nd time and i can honestly say ... it is fabulous...the villa... the owners Jim and Carol.. the location...everything is first class. Carol and Jim go out of there way to make sure you have everything you need to make your holiday perfect. We were there this year for a cycling trip and Jim even worked out routes for us... looking forward to next year...

Richard 2017-05-19  

What a great place to spend a few days (or weeks if you have the time). Perfectly located for visiting Granada, Cordoba and Malaga (each just an hour away), but quiet and private and secluded. The apartment had everything we needed, plus a very helpful food parcel as we arrived over a bank holiday weekend. The outside spaces are plentiful with wonderful views - make sure you set aside a day just to chill out here. The hillside town of Iznajar is just a few minutes drive away. And Jim and Carol were lovely - always on hand if we needed anything. I only wish we had more time to spend here :)

Fatima 2017-05-05  

Nous avons choisi ce logement pour son équidistance des villes de Cordoue, Grenade et Malaga et pour les belles photos de présentation. Et nous n'avons pas été déçues! La vue, le confort, les terrasses, la piscine, les fleurs, les équipements, le calme régnant étaient très appréciables. C'est une maison où il fait bon vivre, on s'y est senti extrêmement bien! Les attentions et la générosité de Carol et Jim y ont été aussi pour beaucoup. Ils offrent un vrai service d'accueil (ils vivent à côté mais sont très discrets). Concernant la localisation de la maison, nous n'avons eu aucun mal à la trouver avec le GPS (sinon Jim vous envoie le détail). Le village d'Iznajar est très charmant et dans le style typique andalou. Il se trouve à moins de 2 km de la maison. Et pour faire notre tourisme dans les villes de Cordoue et Grenade ou retourner à l'aéroport de Malaga, nous avons roulé environ 1h-1h20 (aller) sans jamais rencontrer d'embouteillages. C'est une adresse que nous retenons et un lieu dans lequel nous espérons revenir vite! Pour les gens connectés, la Wifi marche même sur la terrasse et aucun problème de réseau n'a été rencontré.

Tom 2017-04-10  

This is a great place. The house is very clean, well equipped and has everything to feel at home (including a fridge filled up with food and a bottle of cava!). The house has everything you need practically need: more than enough towels, toys for the children, everything you need in the kitchen and the bathroom, etc. We were there early April and we had splendid whether, we were mainly lived outside. It is a very quiet and relaxing environment and we enjoyed the view on the lake and the olive trees. Jim and Carol are excellent hosts. They live next door, are there if you need anything, but there is enough privacy. A highly recommended place!

Mercedes 2017-04-04  

Considering that we have been a couple with two young teenagers I can say that the accommodation is very complete, comfortable, practical and of an exquisite cleanliness. To go with an older person there would be some difficulty as the bedrooms and bathroom are on the top floor and the stairs are quite steep. The location of the house is very good, since although it is on the side of a mountain, the distance to the town of Iznájar (charming town), as well as to some of the Andalusian capitals, is done easily and without investing too much weather. Highlight the attention of Jim (the host), who although he only speaks English, is very cordial; We were greeted with a magnificent welcome detail: milk, butter, jam, coffee, tea, tea, cereal, sugar and everything you need for breakfast. To eat or to dine: eggs, a package of pasta, sauce for pasta, some sausage, bread, a few pieces of fruit, a bag of snacks with their sauce, olives, olive oil (extra virgin olive oil), vinegar and salt. On the other hand, he provided everything necessary for cleaning the house and our personal cleanliness. I have to say that we have visited quite a few houses / apartments and never had at our disposal so many basic things, in such good condition and in abundance. The exteriors of the house are fantastic, the pool and barbeque are great and the patio is much enjoyed, both for meals and dinners. Honestly, we really enjoyed our stay at Casa Ladera.

Andy 2017-02-17  

Thanks Jim and Carol (not forgetting George and Finn) for a great week, we really appreciated your welcome and hospitality. The cottage is great set in fantastic scenery and you made sure that we had and knew everything necessary for a hassle free holiday. We look forward to returning in Autumn or Spring when we will really be able to appreciate the patio, pool, bar-b-que and beach.

Woody2205 2016-11-26  

I've never been to the same place twice but we had such a fabulous holiday here in 2015 that we just had to come back. Everything about the place is first class! If you're looking for somewhere as a base to explore, the property is conveniently located for day trips to Granada, Malaga and Córdoba and only an hours drive from the airport. There are a number of pretty villages locally to explore also with Iznajer a 5 minute drive which has some interesting sights and a choice of bars and restaurants and a few small supermarkets. Rute is a 15-20 minute drive which has a large well stocked supermarket which is ideal for stocking up on all the necessary holiday essentials which can be enjoyed on the villa's fabulous terrace. The owners Jim and Carol have made sure that everything is provided for, both inside and outside, so if you're looking for a rural getaway with stunning views to totally chill out or a base for exploring this is a must.

Catherine 2016-09-18  

My husband and I are just back from a 2 week break in this fantastic cottage. The cottage is very comfortable and very well equipped. The hosts, Carol and Jim have thought of everything to make for an enjoyable holiday. On arrival we found the fridge and cupboards stocked with beer, cava, water, milk, soft drinks, pasta and cereal which were very welcomed. Pool towels also provided. There is also a good selection of books and dvds and if you have children games to keep them occupied. The outside area has stunning views of Lake Iznajar and Olive Groves and also the village. There are sun loungers by the pool and also seating on the lower terrace - with options to stay in shade or lie in the sunshine. While we were here we visited Antequera, Malaga, Alhambra, Granada, Cordoba and Ronda which are easy to get to. We did have a couple more trips planned but were just so relaxed at the cottage that we dropped them so we could take advantage of the surroundings. The town of Iznajar is beautiful and I would recommend a walk to the top of the town to capture the views and also to look at church and cemetery. The town itself has a few supermarkets and a good choice of restaurants which are very reasonably priced. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday and just want to thank Carol and Jim (and also their lovely dogs George and Finn) for ensuring this was possible. They are both available if you need help but also very discrete. Thanks also to Jim for the cider recommendation - still got a couple of bottles left to remind us of the lovely sunshine! Hope to return in the future!

Liz 2016-08-25  

We had a lovely time in this cottage, Carol and Jim have thought of everything, the cottage is really well equipped and cupboards and fridge were stocked up with all the basics, so no need rush off to the supermarket on arrival. The location was great with lovely views of the lake and village. Although the village is only a few minutes by car, walking is not really an option as there is a very steep hill to contend with. There are plenty of restaurants around the area which are really good value, particularly if you like meat. Would recommend antiqueria ( not sure of spelling) for a visit, a lovely town about 40 mins drive away, plenty of restaurants and lovely old buildings / churches. About 20 mins drive from there is the El Torcal national park, which is absolutely spectacular;a jurassic landscape that looks like a film set, would highly recommend it!! We were so happy chilling at the cottage we didn't explore as much as we could have but that's recommendation in itself! If you are a dog lover, Jim and Carol's dogs are gorgeous and we particularly enjoyed spending time with George (out of choice they are not intrusive). Carol also made my holiday by putting me in touch with the local dog rescue charity and we're now waiting for our lovely puppy to arrive in the UK next month!! All in all a fabulous cottage, great location, lovely views, helpful owners and beautiful weather, what more could you want?!! (family with 3 boys aged 19, 18 and 10)

Magicfish10 2016-08-05  

This Andalusian cottage is a perfect holiday location for rest and relaxation. Beautiful cottage style property very tastefully decorated with spacious bedrooms, air con, fully equipped in every way (towels, travel plugs, coffee maker, toys, games, DVD's, tourist books etc etc). The pool and sun loungers were enjoyed at every opportunity :0). Thank you Jim and Carol for the very generous welcome food and drink.....ideal after a long journey. The view from the property is absolutely beautiful, the surrounding area quiet and all within a short drive from the lovely town of Iznajar. Local Spanish restaurants, shops, and lake beaches within 5 minutes drive. The surrounding area is unspoilt, endless olive trees, plenty of walking, just sit back and enjoy the wildlife, bats, geckos and stars by candlelight. The BBQ is perfect for alfresco dining. Central to the delights of Granada and the Alhambra palace, Cordoba and Ronda. Local pueblo blanchos are also well worth exploring. Only an hour from Malaga airport, it is an easy drive and yet you feel a million miles away from the tourist rat race.....perfect!!

Neil J 2016-07-15  

Had a wonderful week in Iznajar as guests of Carol and Jim in their beautiful, well maintained property 5 minutes drive from the town. Ideal base for exploring Andalucia - we managed to visit Ronda, Cordoba and Granada during the week as well as spending a couple of days just relaxing by the pool. Everything you need i.e minimarkets, bars, restaurants can be found in the village itself, and Jim and Carol are always on hand if required for any help or information. Can thoroughly recommend this property and part of the world for families - our 10 and 14 year old were never bored thanks to the pool and wifi! Quick word of warning if wishing to visit the Alhambra - make sure you book tickets well in advance of your holiday. There was no availability at all for the week we were there, but Granada was still well worth a visit.

Sue Etkanson 2016-07-02  

One day to go in this excellent property within an idyllic location. Jim and Carol are a most accommodating couple. They have paid attention to the finer details within their property such as decor, equipment and a generous welcome pack. They are very helpful but discreet hosts. The location of the house is in an ideal area for exploring Andalusia further. We have stayed at a number of properties in rural Andulisia and this rates as one of the best.

Jaleo49 2015-11-13  

We had a lovely stay here, we intended to use it as a base to explore the Subbeticas region, but the cottage, terraces and pool were so inviting that we stayed 'at home' quite a lot. Our hosts,Jim and Carol, had stocked the fridge, so we didn't need to shop for a couple of days! They have put a lot of thought into making the property comfortable and convenient, with a very well-equipped kitchen, comfy lounge ( though we were outside most of the time), plenty of towels, books, leaflets and maps to borrow. And the situation was marvellous - a short drive to Iznajar with plenty of shops, bars and cafes, amazing views of the lake and village and good birdwatching. We visited Priego de Cordoba and Carcabuey - highly recommended, as well as the village, which is very pretty. Having our own pool was great - we recommend a swim during a thunderstorm! Many thanks to Jim for his help and advice!

Diananov2015 2015-10-16  

I looked for a nice and quiet place to stay and also enjoy the views and landscape. The house doesn't lack anything...you have plenty of food that Jim , the owner, provides you of such as coffee, oil, sugar, tea, fizzy drinks, cava, beer, bottled water, salad, milk,bread...we stayed 4 days in the house and it was like being at home...we didn't miss anything and Jim is available for anything you may need. Silence at any time of the day is guaranteed...you hardly hear a motorbike or any other type of noise.The lake is 5 min by car and it's great to enjoy a walk by its shore as well as having a delicious meal in the campsite's restaurant. The town has got also nice and cheap places to eat. The blue spot near the church up the village offers excellent tapas. I will come back for sure!

Woody2205 2015-10-16  

Had a wonderful week in Iznajar as guests of Carol and Jim in their beautiful, well maintained property 5 minutes drive from the town. Ideal base for exploring Andalucia - we managed to visit Ronda, Cordoba and Granada during the week as well as spending a couple of days just relaxing by the pool. Everything you need i.e minimarkets, bars, restaurants can be found in the village itself, and Jim and Carol are always on hand if required for any help or information. Can thoroughly recommend this property and part of the world for families - our 10 and 14 year old were never bored thanks to the pool and wifi! Quick word of warning if wishing to visit the Alhambra - make sure you book tickets well in advance of your holiday. There was no availability at all for the week we were there, but Granada was still well worth a visit.

Dawn B 2015-09-04  

Well appointed cottage with lovely views from the terrace overlooking the lake - perfect for star gazing whilst enjoying a glass of Sangria. The cottage is well equipped and ideal for a small family. There is only one shower room plus an outside toilet which may make larger groups impractical. The master bedroom is situated on the ground floor with stunning views but is separated from the rest of the cottage by a small hallway. The pool is small but perfectly formed - there is limited space for sun loungers around the pool but extra space on the lower terrace. The village of Iznajar is a 5 minute drive, but not a comfortable walk due to the very steep hills and unlit roads at night.

NettyTop 2015-08-10  

Accommodation really comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for Jim. The fridge broke down while we were there and it was replaced immediately with no hassle. This is a pretty cottage that has everything required for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Lovely towels, sunbeds and eating areas with great views over the pool and lake. Nice bars and restaurants in Iznajar (not possible to walk) and the castle and Blue Pot cafe worth a visit. The sandy man-made beach by the lake is great for swimming and sun beds, parasols, pedalos and kayaks can be hired to entertain children. We didn't do to much exploring as we were so comfortable and enjoyed the views and relaxing by the pool. Thank you Jim and Carol for making our stay so enjoyable.

DawnFraser12 2015-07-28  

A typical Andelusian cottage fully equipped with everything you need with a magnificent swimming pool ,terraces and a captivating views perfect for sipping wine. Jim and Carol have thought of everything and are very helpful. A magical spot for either relaxing or being active just outside a truly typical Spanish village. And for me an added bonus of George and Fin two adorable pooches!

Kimmy195856 2015-05-25  

We travelled to this wonderful cottage in May 2015 and we were made to feel welcome as soon as we pulled up on the drive, Jim with his lovely Irish accent was there to greet us along with George (his trusty companion) although it was very late on the Friday night. As soon as we walked into the cottage we felt at home, the décor is sympathetically restored with some lovely touches, the clean crisp bed linen, the wonderfully thick towels for the sunloungers, very well stocked fridge on arrival so we could have a drink after the drive from Malaga Airport (approx 1.5 hrs). We were woken most morning by the birds who seem as happy to be there as we were. The view from the patios is so much better than the photographs and even when lying in the pool you can still see the lake and mountains. The kitchen has a range cooker and all the equipment you could possibly need. Cooking on the barbeque was our favourite which again overlooks the lake. We could not fault the cleanliness and nothing was too much trouble. Carol was away in London when we arrived but she also took the time to make sure that we were being looked after. Thank you both for a lovely holiday we hope to return again next year and take you up on the offer of the Kayak.

 

Leave a comment
Please rate    

 

TripAdvisor Reward   TripAdvisor Reward